Rymsta Ray Ekwu
3 min readApr 20, 2017

Near Success Syndrome

Several times, I’ve been so close to achieving a goal, dream or desire in my life but it seems like the moment I’m on the verge of breakthrough, something comes and snatches it away from my grasp. It really hurts when this scenario plays out, sometimes it has made me question my faith. Welcome to my world.

In June last year, I was given the oppourtunity of a lifetime to minister “Liftings” alongside two other amazing ministers in my church while a great man of God was present. This pastor has one of the biggest churches in Europe and he really loved the song. It was such an honour when he announced via my pastor that he would love to have us come over to do the same song in his church in the UK by September.

I was ecstatic to say the least, I had never travelled abroad before and this would be the dream come true for me (or so I thought). I had all my gear ready, met my tailor to make some dope wears, also went shopping in the market for a suitable travelling bag and other necessities. Everyone in my family was excited that their boy will soon land in Heathrow Terminal 5 and send home selfies of his lavish stay in London.

We began communication with the protocol team in UK, way before the time was due, I had sent every necessary detail they needed to facilitate the travel procedure. However, we didn’t hear from them any more at some point. All efforts to try to reach them proved abortive. At first, I remained calm believing they would call soon but when the time we were meant to go elapsed my dream became a nightmare. That week in September, I got an invitation to minister in another state and I was so happy to travel out of town because people who saw me in church were always asking “I thought you were in the UK already?”, I could feel the sarcasm in their remarks and honestly, it felt very disappointing.

I’m grateful for my beautiful family who encouraged me through this trying period. I had to let go of the feelings of despair. I currently hold no grudges against the man of God or his ministry, it’s possible they were too busy and maybe forgot. I still haven’t travelled to the UK till date but I know better oppourtunities will come. I’m so sure because God’s word never fails, He called me into this so I believe He will open doors to kings for me. This experience and others have made me understand that I don’t have a ‘near success syndrome’, no sir. I am a success and it’s only a matter of time, the world will see the greatness embedded in me. The purpose driven will soon be chauffeur driven, best believe that.

Rymsta Ray Ekwu

I serve the Truth in Chocolate Bars. Kingdom Emcee, CEO: Rich & Rychus Entertainment, Founder: #OroroNation